The Strength of my life

It’s been a long time since I last updated this blog. Mainly because I have been extremely busy, busy on trying to figure out how I can maximize my time to the point that I would sometimes forget the more important things.

In the past months I have made big decisions that changed my life from a routine to a more exciting but really challenging one. In April I decided to welcome someone into my life as a response to what God had revealed to me in a dream I had last May 2012 and to the countless revelations from verses and devotionals that I had months after the dream. I won’t talk about that yet though. In addition to that, in May of this year, 2013, I decided to go back to school by faith. I didn’t really prepare for it financially but God’s Word continued to encourage me that God is going to be my provider and sustainer.

This morning, I was reminded of the countless affirmations that He had given me in the past months via the lines from some songs that I’ve listened to this morning:

I don’t know where I will be, I don’t know what I would do now, If Your love hadn’t saved me.
You are the strength of my life and I’m eternally grateful.
You are the strength of my life Lord. It doesn’t matter what may come my way.
You are the strength of my life Lord. I’m holding on to You.
Strength of My Life by Planetshakers

Though the storms may rage around me, in thee I have rest my soul.
In Your presence I surrender. Laying down all my foolish pride…
I will wait by Darlene Zschech

When my hopes and dreams have shattered, You’re the one that’s there for me.
When I found You I was blessed…
Imagine me without You. I’d be lost and so confused.
I wouldn’t last a day, I’d be afraid without You there to see me through.
Imagine me without You. Lord, You know it’s just impossible.
Because of You, it’s all brand new.
My life is now worthwhile.
When You caught me I was falling. Your love lifted me back on my feet.
It was like You heard my calling and You rushed to set me free.
– Imagine me without You by Jaci Velasquez

I’m not the [wo]man I was before. With You, my life is so much more.
Break the chains and open doors to a world I can’t ignore.
Lord let me shine, shine like the moon. A reflection of You in all that I do.
Lord let me be a light for Your truth…
– Shine by Salvador

The songs pointed me back to the following verses:

2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV)
But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

1 Corinthians 15:10 (NIV)
But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect. No, I worked harder than all of them—yet not I, but the grace of God that was with me.

I realized that it was really God’s will for me because of the favor from my schedule and salary at work (full-time plus freelance jobs on the side) and from the high scores I get from exams and other activities at school.

When people ask me on how I managed to have the time or strength for everything that I do, I normally say “I don’t really know”. It is really because I don’t have anything to boast about but the strength and wisdom that I would normally ask from God before I start doing everything else. I can’t say I am very consistent at this because as I have mentioned I sometimes become caught up with the things that I have to do that I forget that I can’t do anything well apart from Christ. Just so you know, I juggle things between school (studying BS Business Administration in a local college), work (as an online EFL instructor and freelancer for various art and techie related online jobs), family, friends, and love ones (I love spending time with people), and ministry (doing discipleship and I playing the keyboard in a local church’s worship team).

Whenever I try to assess my progress, I couldn’t help but be amazed at how I survived especially now that my first semester at school is about to end. In my weakness God has shown that I can excel at school and still do well at work and other areas of my life as long as I let His grace work in me. The amazing thing about God is He never forces things on us. He wants us to come to Him because that’s how much He loves us. He prefers us having our own free will because He delights more if we choose Him above anything else (Psalm 147:11). When I rely on my strength, I noticed that my efforts don’t really amount to so much. I feel burnt out, tired, and more frustrated. When I started relying on God’s grace, I realized that I can do things better and with ease (1 Corinthians 15:10).

My prayer for today is for you, my dear reader, to realize that apart from God’s grace we are weak – that you would acknowledge that the strength of our life is God. Let Him in and let Him work in your life and you’ll be amazed at how your life can turn for the best.

599358_10201414200489763_1468356940_n

Leave a Reply

