North Face Climb

      It’s been a long time since I’ve written something for this blog. I have a list of things in my journal regarding what I want to write about but my schedule in the past few weeks and my mood made it impossible for me to even begin writing one paragraph. One blog post wouldn’t be enough to summarize God’s greatness in my life in the past weeks and month. He had dealt with my character, my way of thinking, and my heart in ways that I haven’t imagined. The past few weeks was a battle for me but it was a battle that I need not face alone because God made me feel that He was with me every step of the way.

He had answered my prayers but the one answered prayer that I’m recently really ecstatic about is the fact that my workplace is now having a Morning Prayer and Bible study time. I had been praying for this for more than a year already so when my ‘manongs’ and ‘manangs’ (seniors) asked me if I can help lead the morning prayers and Bible study time, I immediately said ‘Yes, I’d love to’. We started the first few days with just a simple and short prayer and sharing time. Then, it involved coffee. The fellowships later on involved food. People became more open with what they were sharing and everyone is just eager to learn more about what God has to say in the issues that we are facing at work.

Early today, we meditated on Habakkuk 3:17-19. Not all of us were really familiar with this because most are usually familiar with passages from the Psalms, Proverbs, and New Testament books. Among the three verses, this verse became the center of the discussion:

God, the Lord, is my strength, he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places. –Habakkuk 3:19 (ESV)

During the talk, God revealed the significance of the phrase: ‘he makes my feet like the deer’s’. God designed the feet of this animal to be swift and graceful even when they are passing through tough spots in their habitat. It then occurred to us that we are like deer climbing the North face of a mountain. The north face of a mountain is generally known as the steepest, coldest, and most difficult to climb. The path, most of the time, tends to be dangerous, unpredictable and deadly. Most mountaineers know that the north face of a mountain isn’t generally safe and is very challenging. We have concluded that a Christian’s journey is similar because the path we have to take is not the easy one.

However, God promises us that He would give us strength, He would lead us through and He would help us tread on them with the gracefulness of a deer. This illustration encouraged us to think of how we had survived temptations and problems in the past. It made us thankful that God has changed us from one level of glory to another. It wasn’t an easy journey but because God’s love, grace, hands, and favor was there, we were able to come out as victorious overcomers.

God is continuously training us to go through the rough times in our journey as a Christian. I was again reminded that Christianity is a journey to perfection. His training for us is not to know how to escape but for us to go through things and emerge as survivors who are wiser and better people. There is nothing that we cannot bear if He is with us. We just have to remember this verse whenever we are going through rough times and claim that God is our strength and He will always get us through.

Leave a Reply

