Cooked to perfection

Different meat cooking methods.

Food again?! I was having lunch earlier and I was enjoying this simple home cooked meal. It was a meat and vegetable dish and I was just pleased with how the pork was cooked. It was really cooked soft and tender. While I was enjoying my meal, it suddenly hit me how we are all being cooked (hey, not in a cannibalistic way but in a metaphorical sense).

There are various ways to cook meat well. You can boil it, bake it, pan-sear it, fry it, or grill it. These are just some ways and they all involve heat. However, the process is not the same. The timing and exposure to the heat are different in each method. A little mistake on the timing and temperature and your dish will be ruined (learned these from watching too much MasterChef :p).

Now why am I talking about these? I just realized that in life, we are all subjected to different kinds of heat, in different timings, for us to be ‘cooked well’. It is painful and tears are produced in the process just as meat would produce juices when subjected to heat. Rest assured, our chef – God, knows just the right timing, seasoning, and temperature needed to turn us into that perfect dish.
This morning, it was time for me to read Psalms 23. I was thinking, I know this chapter by heart so maybe I can skip it and just go read Psalms 24 instead. But of course, I ended up reading it again and I was surprised as to how the Bible reveals and speaks of new things even with the same verses and words. What struck me were the words from verse 3 and 6:

Psalm 23 (ESV)
3 He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.
6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

God leads us in paths of righteousness and His goodness and mercy will follow us all the days of our life. Aren’t those amazing promises? I have been debating with God in our moments together about some things that He is leading me into. He had been placing particular desires in my heart that my stubborn self does not want to acknowledge. After battling it for weeks and months, and after some tears, I am proud to say that I have begun to acknowledge it. It’s His plan, so the best thing to do is just trust Him as He cooks/prepares me for it.

Here’s my recent jam that somehow speaks of what I have been thinking of lately:


 If you want to sing along, check this out:
“Steady My Heart –Kari Jobe”
Wish it could be easy
Why is life so messy?
Why is pain a part of us?
There are days I feel like nothing ever goes right
Sometimes it just hurts so much

But You’re here, You’re real
I know I can trust You

Even when it hurts
Even when it’s hard
Even when it all just falls apart
I will run to You
Cause I know that You are
Lover of my soul
Healer of my scars
You steady my heart [x2]

I’m not gonna worry
I know that You got me
Right inside the palm of your hand
Each and every moment
What’s good and what gets broken
Happens just the way that You plan

And I will run to You
And find refuge in Your arms
And I will sing to You
Cause of everything You are
You steady my heart [x2]

Leave a Reply

